More Energy Without Coffee or Crack!

As I am coming to a close in my college career, I understandably have a lot of errands to run before I leave for the ‘real world’. My weeks have been more hectic and less time has been spent reading and writing. So the next couple posts of mine will most likely be short and sweet. But as always I hope to write something that I would read if I were not my devilishy handsome self.

So-Sleepy-puppies-31018857-700-525

This post will focus on how to get more energy in your day without doing anything! (Really, I mean anything!)

‘Dude, I am so tired’

‘OMG, I am about to pass out!!’

‘I cannot wait for this day to end. I am so tired’

As a member of the race of over-caffeinated, sleep deprived, drug induced heathens known as college students, you hear the above phrases and their equivalents quite a bit. It has almost become a staple in conversations with friends of mine at college.

If you are in college right now or anywhere at any point in your life, I want you to do an experiment. Keep your ears open and try to count how many times a day you’ll hear the phrase ‘I’m tired’ or some form of it from your peers. It’s pretty funny when you start paying attention to it.

Could it possibly be an attempt to portray that you have put in a lot of work that day? Could it be someone trying to make an excuse for not being completely happy and alive at that moment?

I’m not sure. But what can we do about it?

where are you actually tired?

This is a super important question that will change the way fatigue affects you and I will go into it with more detail in just a bit but let me tell you about myself first.

I am what is known as a chronic ‘snoozer’. With the best intention, I will set an alarm to wake up at a time that is conducive to me getting my work done before I have to go wherever it is I have to go.

It is also with the best intentions that in my sleepy haze of an half awake state, I manage to convince my self that sleeping in just 9 minutes longer will not only feel good, but it will make me feel more rested. 5 more times after that, I am still with the greatest of intentions.

I’ve read enough about the different types of sleep cycles to understand that if you aren’t getting in a full REM period of sleep then you are just wasting your time and might actually be making yourself even more tired.

I guess I cause more damage than good when I press that snooze button on my iPhone.

So what can be done about this?

Do you believe in miracles?

As an avid reader, I stumble across numerous tales of different sorts of fantastical things that have happened in the world.

One such story is the blind man who with the power of faith and some key people in his life, regained his eye sight without any medical help. Blind to sight, wow. (I’ll probably start a band and call it Blind to Sight)

This made me wonder. The thing about me is I am ready to believe a good story if it is inspiring. And this one fit all of the requirements. My eye sight is poor and I have always dreamed of not having to wear contacts or glasses ever again. I was always ready to put my eyes under the lasers of LASIK surgery just so I could be free of these damned visual chains.

But upon reading this story, I asked myself if it was actually possible to get better vision without surgery. So I did some research and read through some books.

Where ever I searched, the Bates Method was there. Produced by an early 20th century doctor, this method proposed that it had helped hundreds of thousand if not millions of people regain their eye sight through the use of training their eyes naturally!

I won’t go into detail here about the method as I do not know much about it (I do intend to learn more very soon), but the most interesting piece of information I gained is not that the muscles of the eyes of people with poor vision were not strong enough.

No, not at all. The problem stemmed from the muscles in eyes being overworked and not having proper rest.

You’re telling me I have poor vision because my eyes are tired?

The body and the eyes

Having gained this insight, I decided to do a self analysis any time I considered myself ‘tired’. Was I really tired – did my body require rest/sleep or was it that parts of my body was tired, namely my eyes?

As I started asking myself whether or not I was actually tired, I decided to change the question to “where on my body am I tired?”

Like a doctor examining a patient, it took me to an objective standpoint and when I assessed myself, I almost always concluded that I was not in fact tired, but that it was usually my eyes that needed rest.

After staring at a computer screen all day, reading a lot or even just after waking up, I realized that my body was well rested but because my eyes felt tired and heavy, I generalized it to mean that ‘I am tired’.

My dad always tells me and my brother to watch what we say. ‘Don’t say that you are tired’ he says, ‘because then you convince yourself that you are tired and you start acting that way’.

I think the devilishly handsome father of the devilishly handsome son is right.

So once you convince yourself that you are not actually tired but only a few parts of your body are, a mental block gets lifted and you gain a surge of energy.

It’s fantastic, it’s simple and it’s cheaper than Starbucks.

Just ask yourself. ‘Where on my body am I tired?’

 

Leave a Reply

